New Champions Crowned at 2021 YETI Nationals

Six new National Champions were crowned at the 2021 Yeti Climbing National Championships last week at Momentum Indoor Climbing in Millcreek and Lehi, Utah. For the first time ever, the separate elite championships for Bouldering, Lead and Speed were combined into one single championships event.

In the Lead discipline, Jesse Grupper took the top spot on the Men’s podium, beating out Olympians Colin Duffy and Nathaniel Coleman with a strong performance on the wall. On the Women’s Side, Quinn Mason had the only Top of the night and earned her first elite National Championship.

Speed Qualifiers saw a number of surprises, and the competition was wide open on both the men’s and women’s side. Both Men’s and Women’s Finals consisted of several first-time elite National Championship Competitors. After an exciting round that saw upsets and even a rare tie, Callie Close and Joe Goodacre each claimed the top of the podium and became National Speed Champions for the first time.

The event closed out at the Momentum Lehi location with an exciting Bouldering competition. Olympian Colin Duffy came out strong through Qualifiers and Semi-Finals, and topped all four boulders in Finals to claim the top spot for the Men’s Division. Melina Costanza followed strong performances at several North American Cup Series (NACS) stops, and was crowned Women’s Champion. The women’s final came down to the final problem between Costanza and Kylie Cullen and was determined by attempts after both finished with 3 Tops and 4 Zones.

Watch the Semis and Finals on YouTube and find photos from all rounds of competition in our Facebook galleries.

This event closes out the season for the Elite Division. Full results from the 2021 Yeti Climbing Championships can be found at Next up for the elite division is 2022 National Team Trials which will be held in March.

2021 Yeti Climbing National Championships Podium Results

Lead- Women
1st- Quinn Mason
2nd- Melina Costanza
3rd – Kyra Condie

Lead- Men
1st- Jesse Grupper
2nd- Colin Duffy
3rd – Nathaniel Coleman

Speed- Women
1st- Callie Close
2nd- Emma Hunt
3rd – Piper Kelly

Speed- Men
1st- Joe Goodacre
2nd- Rafe Stokes
3rd – Micah Liss

Bouldering- Women
1st- Melina Costanza
2nd- Kylie Cullen
3rd – Maya Madere

Bouldering- Men
1st- Colin Duffy
2nd- Benjamin Hanna
3rd – Zach Galla

Our site uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience. If you continue to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies.