U.S. Youth National Team Travels to South Korea For Youth Worlds!

As all the excitement from the Climbing World Championships in Bern, Switzerland begins to fade, the 2023 Youth World Championship gets under way in South Korea. 596 athletes (323 male, 273 female) from 45 countries have made the trip to East Asia to compete in Boulder, Lead and Speed. Of these nearly six hundred athletes, 48 US Youth National Team Members along with an 8 person team staff have also made the long journey to represent the USA in the ten-day long competition. You can find a full list of registered US youth competitors and team staff below.

Where To Watch
The Semi-Finals and Finals rounds of boulder and lead competition along with Speed Finals will be livestreamed on the IFSC YouTube Channel.

Keep up with your favorite athletes on the IFSC Results Page.

Check out the 2023 Youth Worlds Info Sheet for a detailed schedule of events.

The competition got kicked off with the Lead climbing events last Friday. Despite not landing the podium positions, the US Youth National Team athletes still got off to a strong start with twelve of the eighteen lead athletes climbing their way into the semi-finals round. Declan Osgood, Bryce Nix, Norah Chi, Olivia Ma, and Analise Van Hoang were also able to rise to their final rounds.

Today marked the start of the Speed rounds of competition in Seoul. Kicking off with the U16 category, Declan Calfy, Logan Schlecht, and Victoria D’Souza were all able to run their way out of qualifiers and into the finals round. While the U18 category gets started with the first round of the Boulder discipline tomorrow, the remainder of the week will be a mixture of Boulder and Speed competition.

Team USA Registered Youth Athletes:
Carly Alba
Alina Albert
Brenden Beauchamp
Declan Calfy
Norah Chi
Jojo Chi
Callie Close
Sophia Curcio
Victoria Dsouza
Vail Everett
Micah Feller
Ella Fisher
Josh Greenbaum
Peter Gusev
Sonia Gutierrez
Zach Hammer
Michael Hom
Hugo Hoyer
Beckett Hsin
Abigail Humber
Alexandra Inghilterra
Ben Jennings
Ava Kovtunovich
Sergey Lakhno
Claire Larson
Isaac Leff
Olivia Ma
Hannah Mayer
Skylar Mengerink
Lily Nguyen
Bryce Nix
Quinn O’Francia
Isabella Orner
Declan Osgood
Graham Owens
Cruz Padilla
Suhvin Park
Sienna Perez
Zaden Rogers
Isis Rothfork
Liberty Runnels
Anastasia Sanders
Nathan Sato
Logan Schlecht
Adam Shahar
Emiko Takeuchi
Analise Van Hoang
Zoe Yi

Youth National Team Staff
Meghan McDonald – Head Coach
Frankie Caiazzo – Assistant Coach (Boulder)
Alvaro Rangel- Assistant Coach (Lead)
Oleksii Shulga- Assistant Coach (Speed)
Maurice Cureton – Apprentice Coach
Jon Mavko – Intern Coach
Zoe Sayetta – Intern Coach
Kim Mitchell – Team Manager

Visit the IFSC’s Event Registration Page for a full list of registered athletes.

Our site uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience. If you continue to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies.